If you are heading to Arkansas for vacation, you need to learn about the laws here to make sure that you aren’t breaking them. Just being a visitor isn’t a defense against criminal charges, so don’t think that ignorance is the defense option that will work for your case.
This advice is something that is important no matter where you are going on vacation. You have to remember that laws vary from one state to another and you are expected to follow the applicable laws where you are now.
Let’s look at drunk driving in the Natural State. You can’t legally drive in this state if your blood-alcohol concentration is .08 percent or higher. If you are found to have a BAC that meets or exceeds this limit, you will likely spend at least 24 hours in jail. You will also have to face drunk driving charges here, which can lead to a driver’s license suspension, fines and more.
Any criminal charges that you face in Arkansas while you are on vacation could mean that you have to come back to face the court. As you can imagine, this wouldn’t be very much fun. Not only will your initial vacation have been ruined, but your finances could also be impacted to the point where you can’t enjoy another one for a while.
If you are a vacationer and facing charges here, you need to learn about the various ways you might be able to handle the charges. Once you learn what is possible, you can make a decision that you feel is in your best interests.
Source: FindLaw, “Don’t Let Accidental Crime Ruin Your Vacation,” George Khoury, Esq., accessed July 21, 2017